New album featuring Bill Champlin, Robbie Buchanan, Louie Shelton and others…

Awesome west coast music from “Down Under”. Kere Buchanan took everybody by storm with his debut album “Starting Over” that was released in 2009 and later reissued by Vivid Sound in Japan in 2011.

Now it is time for the follow up album featuring L.A. Cats and the finest Australian studio musicians. A beautiful cover art by Marc Jordan.

Here is Kere´s own words about the songs on the album:

Goodbye Yesterday (song descriptions):

1. if you need somebody.  (bidmead/buchanan)

I’ve had this little song lying around from the last album so i thought i’d bring it back. the key changes thing @ the end is something i’ve always loved as it takes a song to new heights with so much tension. this features the great gary pinto on lead vocals.

2. could this be love? (bidmead/buchanan)

I just love these sneaky sexy type grooves & i remember distinctly when this song came to me. I was sitting @ the keyboard just playing around with some chord changes before heading to a gig. I knew straight away that michelle should sing this. michelle has to be one of the most professional artists i’ve ever worked with & like on the last album, she arrived to sing the session like she owned it. thanks mm!

3. slippin’ away. (bidmead/buchanan)

I came up with most of this song a week or so after i got out of hospital back in 2011. I originally had the title ‘give it away’ & then ‘slipped away’ but i borrowed the ever so popular title  ‘slippin’ away’… this features my partner in crime on lead vocals, glenn bidmead.

This along with ‘miss josephine’ is my ‘paying homage’ to the late/great jeff porcaro of the band toto & indeed many other albums. I would never have become a musician without hearing him play with all those amazing artists. r.i.p. jp, kb!

4. until i found you. (bidmead/buchanan/corvin)

This was the first song that glenn & i had ever collaborated with another writer/lyricist on & we both agreed it was a great idea. I also knew straight away it should be a duet. I met candy corvin (co-writer) on facebook through a mutual friend & she told me she’d been involved in a record label in la back in the 80’s & she’d bought kerosene & my first solo album & loved them. she asked if she could send some lyric over & i said, of course! i’m always up for new angles.

This & ‘goodbye yesterday’ were written within a week of each other & this cut features one of my all time hero’s in music on fender rhodes, Robbie Buchanan. thanks for your magic touch rb, kb!

5. never gonna give you up. (bidmead/buchanan)

As far back as I can remember i have been a huge chicago/bill champlin fan. i remember first hearing him on chicago ‘16’ and just being blown away with the sound of his voice & his writing. I then bought anything that had his name on it from Lee Ritenour to Al Jarreau/Airplay & his solo albums. i am so privileged to have him on this track… I sent him an mp3 to sing to & within a few days I received an unbelievable track with that undeniable sound of Bill Champlin. thanks Bill!

6. goodbye yesterday. (bidmead/buchanan/corvin)

When candy sent some of her lyrics to me, this title of hers just jumped out at me (along with ‘until i found you’) so glenn & i went to work on it & what we came up with is this. i straight away knew that my great buddy Geoff Robertson should sing the title cut again like on the last record as his undeniable voice suits these types of songs & knocks me out. thanks grouse, kb.

7. miss josephine. (bidmead/buchanan)

This is my salute to 2 of my all time favourite composers/artists, donald fagen (& walter becker). I originally had the title ‘little old me’ for this but i got to thinking glenn & i should stretch ourselves with the lyric on this & so i came up with the title ‘miss josephine’. It‘s based loosely around a crush i had on a girl who worked @ my local deli back in the mid 90’s. I called in everyday to see her to buy a caramel slice but i never did get the courage to ask her out but the story made for a cool song though! this features the great barry leef on lead vocals.

8. my love. (bidmead/buchanan)

I was a little nervous about having ‘2’ ballads on the album but i’m glad this survived. this is your real 80’s type ballad as i’m clearly stuck in that era. it was initially a duet but as the track grew it was clear it should be a male vocal and Glenn as usual tore it up. This is for ‘my love’.

9. shining star. (bidmead/buchanan)

This was recorded after the main tracking dates were done (along with a bonus track to be released down the track) as it was revealed that i was a few songs down for what i consider a full album. A project of this size can reveal a few flaws & indeed change direction as it’s evolving & i’ve always maintained to not put a song on a record if i’m not 100% happy with it, so it was back to the drawing board as they say!

I had written the basic idea for this cut many years ago back in christchurch when i was a kid, & it’s funny & a blessing how these ideas just come back to you when you need a song!

This features one of my fav guitarists & people, Mark Punch. we had a wonderful day recording & afterwards drinking coffee and chatting about music that day. thanks mp, kb!

10. all because of you. (bidmead/buchanan)

This is another little song i’ve had lying around for years & while during the writing sessions @ my mum’s place this came back to me. I had the pre-chorus/chorus chord progression with the chorus melody so I came up with the verse/bridge section & went to glenn’s to finish it off with some melody & lyric.

I had the pleasure of playing on a record a few years back with a great ‘vocal’ group from here called ‘bella’ & Karen O’shea was part of that group. All ‘3’ singers were something else but i thought Karen would really suit some of the songs on the record, & i was right. thanks Karen, kb!

11. hard goodbyes. (bidmead/buchanan)

I really wanted a rhodes/acoustic piano & lead vocal on the record this time. one of my all time favourite songs is ‘you are so beautiful’ that was written by Dennis Wilson/Billy Preston, and Bruce Fisher &

The great joe cocker cut some years ago & i wanted a similar thing with more jazz type chord changes. real emotional & a pouring your heart out type thing. I had many people in mind for this to sing but Glenn (Bidmead) convinced me to sing it myself so this is my debut @ singing a lead vocal.


Bonus tracks for Japan release:

1. never gonna give you up. (bidmead/buchanan)

2. happy when i’m sad. (bidmead/buchanan)

This song, along with slippin’ away was the only two to survive on the record before & after i got out of hospital. (i decided to start over and write a whole bunch of new music). This is quite an introspective song dealing with anxiety/depression/adhd… smile when you’re hurting. any of you that deal or know one that does suffer the silent illness this is for you!

This features one of my favourite vocalists here Jade Macrae.

Buy the cd at the CDBaby store:

Kere Buchanan: Goodbye Yesterday

By Published On: april 1, 2014Categories: In Focus, New Releases

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!

About the Author: Kbremer

Good music enriches your life. At BLUE DESERT we are passionate about this particular yet wide-ranging style of music we call West Coast Music. This site is a modest tribute to the music and the performing artists, who through the (many) years have given us - and continue to give us - endless hours of musical enjoyment. As long-time fans we want to share our enthusiasm, experiences and views with fellow connoisseurs as well as curious newcomers. If we can do our bit to help promote this great music and all the gifted artist – well, then we have succeeded.