Trio with AOR and west coast influence…

TRW is a new Melodic Rock trio formed by some of the most incredible musicians/session players of the Rock and Pop scene: Michael Thompson (guitar), Mark Williamson (vocals and bass) and John Robinson (drums). Each of these musicians has an impressive list of collaborations and credits, which includes recording with such megastar names of Pop such as Michael Jackson, Celine Dion, Steve Winwood, Phil Collins, Barbra Streisand to N’Sync, Christina Aguilera, Madonna, Jennifer Lopez, Eric Clapton, etc.

Michael Thompson released one highly regarded AOR album under the M.T.B. monicker, while Williamson and Robinson released a superb TOTO-flavoured album as BRIDGE 2 FAR in 1989. All three have released solo CD’s. Michael’s are titled, “The World According To MT” and “MT Speaks”. Mark’s is titled, “Time Slipping By” and JR’s is titled, “Funkshui”.

The roots of this record go back in time: “The concept behind TRW is that myself, Michael and Mark are true fans of classic rock and roll”, explains John Robinson. His friendship with Thompson dates back to their years in the Berklee College of Music when they were in classes together.

“We have so many things musically in common that it was destiny forming TRW”, continues Robinson. “We also play in David Foster’s All-Star band. Michael and I have been writing together for many years now and by adding such a great singer/writer as Mark, it is just magic. We have formulated our own style with comparisons to many rock bands such as Led Zeppelin, Bad Company, Journey and Toto”.

The new album is everything one could expect from these monster musicians: brilliant musicianship, immense songwriting, soaring vocals and rocking attitude! “One thing that we pride ourselves on is all our songs have melodies that everybody will remember”, concludes Robinson: “We all believe in great songs!”

“Rivers of Paradise” is undoubtedly a true Melodic Rock classic in the making which should not be missed by anyone.

Check out the TRW website:


Rivers Of Paradise

Frontiers Records 2007

Tracks: Set My Spirit Free, Rivers of Paradise, Hold On, Indiscretio, Gonna Be Some Changes, Only a Letter, Hard Time Love, One Good Woman, Love Comes Callin' & Alimony Blues.

Musicians on the Rivers Of Paradise album: Mark Williamson, John "JR" Robinson & Michael Thompson.