The danish west coast singer…

In 1980 the singer & keyboardplayer Jorgen Thorup started the band V6 together with his classmates Peter Sommer & Gunnar Jacobsen. They were joined by Chris Paulsen (bass), Bo Langhoff (guitars) & Alec Due Jensen (drums). V6 got signed by EMI Records and released the albums “Kun Et Sekund” & “Slipper Dig Aldrig”. The band was inspired by american westcoast bands like Toto & Pages but also by the danish band Sneakers with the singer Sanne Salomonsen in front.

V6 stopped in 1985 and then Jorgen Thorup and then he made the studioproject 1st Avenue together with the engineer Roberto Johansson. With this project they released a maxi-single titled “Raproad” and got some great success with that, and it was followed up by the maxi-single “Take Me Back To Rio”. Together they also wrote material to bands like Laban (Ivan Pedersen) and Jorgen Thorup did many jobs as sessionmusician and he toured with artists such as: Sanne Salomonsen, Billy Cross, Henrik Strube, Rugsted & Kreutzfeldt, Michael Falch & Sebastian.

At a session in the Soundtrack Studio he meet Michael Hardinger from the band Shubidua and very soon they decided to start the recordcompany Full Moon and they also released two albums by themselves under the name Hardinger/Thorup and worked with artists: Sorte Penge, Bamboo Brothers and did many commercials etc.

In the studio the band Shubidua were recording their 11th album, and they needed some vocalassistance, because their leadsinger has left the band. So Jorgen Thorup helped on this album, and when the band started the recording sessions the their next album they decided to make Jorgen Thorup a permanent member, and he played with the band up until 2001, and had put his personal touch to the group over the years.

Now Jorgen Thorup decided to go further with his solocareer as an artists and songwriter. He wrote the song “We Can Find A Way Together” with Curtis Steigers and the song was performed by Stig Rossen at his soloalbum “Letters Of Love”. In the beginning of 2001 he was hired to play keyboard on the worldtour with the heavy group “Pretty Maids” and later this year he did a localtour with the popgroup “Dodo & The Dodos”.

In his own studio “Tunelab”, which he has together with his partner Niels Poulsen, songs to the first soloalbum is recorded and late 2001 the first single “Conquer My Heart” was released on the Bonnier Music label, followed up by the single “Lovesong” released in 2002. More songs were in the progess, but it took a couple of years to finish them, and in the beginning of 2004 the complete album “Free Man” is finally released on the label Tame Music.

Words and picture from the official Jorgen Thorup website.


Vildeste Visioner

POPdeLuxe 2021

Tracks: On The Road, Ingenting, Vildeste Visioner, Ku' Alligevel Ikke Sove, Kusten Stiger, Efterladt, IrmaPigen, Fatter Det Nu, Lad Os Danse Mens Vi Kan & Stjernestøv.

Musicians on the Vildeste Visioner album: Ivan Pedersen, Jorgen Thorup, Peter Busborg and others.

Human Stars

Rock & Roll Music 2020

Tracks: Human Stars, Alone Tonight, When We Dance, For Better And For Worse, I Hate To Tell You, Love Will Break Your Heart, Private Eyes, Fly Away & Time For Me To Say Goodbye.

Musicians on the Human Stars album: Jørgen Thorup, Dianna Corcoran, Michael Hardinger, Michael Hartman, Dan Hemmer and others.

Good Company For The Dog

Gateway Music 2011

Tracks: Don´t Stop, Is This For Real, Man of Her Dreams, Didn´t, More Than a Dream, Good Company For The Dog, A Little Bit of Heaven, Love Ain´t a One Man Show, Impossible Things, When You Walk Away, What Did I Do & The Way That Things Go.

Musicians on the Good Company For The Dog: Jorgen Thorup and others.

Kommer Du Med

Rock & Roll Music 2007

Tracks: Kommer Du Med, Gi´Mig Mer´, Vejen Hjem, Gor Som Du Vil, Efterar, Lilly, Nar Du Ta´r Herfra, D´Angleterre, Vi To & Pracis Som Du Sagde.

Musicians on the Kommer Du Med album: Jorgen Thorup, Peter Busborg, Mads Lokkegaard, Nicholas Findsen, Klaus Menzer, Arvid, Jesper Riis, Nis Toxvard & Rune Olesen.

Vi Elsker Jer Kvinder

SSL Records 2006

Tracks: Vi Elsker Jer Kvinder.

Musicians on the Vi Elsker Jer Kvinder CD Single: Soren Sebber Larsen, Jorgen Thorup & Soren Skov.

Free Man

Tame Music 2004

Tracks: The Reason, Rescue Me, Conquer My Heart, Circus Of Love, Rich Girl, That´s The Way, Killing Time, So Deep In Love, I Don´t Wanna Kiss You, Free Man, World´s Best Lovesong & Won´t Go There No More.

Musicians on the Free Man album: Jorgen Thorup, Niels Poulsen, Flemming Olsen, Rune Holberg, Rasmus Schroder, Soren Skov, Jacob Andersen, Michael Hardinger, Nicolas Findsen, Jens Fredslund, Lars Nielsen, Munch, Trille Palsgaard & Hans Nygaard.