Legendary songwriter…

Jack Tempchin is a legendary hit songwriter, whose compositions “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Already Gone” are synonymous with the Southern California Sound. These songs can be found on the Eagles’ compilation Their Greatest Hits 1971-1975, which the RIAA named the Best-Selling U.S. Album of the 20th Century.

His songs have been performed or recorded by several artists, including George Jones, Buck Owens, Emmylou Harris, Glen Campbell, Jackson Browne, Dwight Yoakam, Linda Ronstadt, Patty Loveless, Trisha Yearwood, Tanya Tucker, Richie Havens, Sammy Kershaw, Kate Wolf, Tom Rush and more.

Jack Tempchin has also performed live with 3 Eagles—Glenn Frey, Joe Walsh and Timothy B. Schmit. He’s also played with greats like Poco, Jackson Browne, J.D. Souther, Chicago, Chris Hillman, Herb Pedersen, Jimmy Webb, Al Kooper, Kenny Loggins, Karla Bonoff, Christopher Cross and Dolly Parton, among others. In the mid-90s, Jack toured as the opening act for Ringo Starr and His All Star Band at major venues Radio City Music Hall and The Hollywood Bowl.

A San Diego native, In 1976, Jack Tempchin was first signed by Clive Davis to Arista Records, along with Jules Shear and Richard Stekol, in the band The Funky Kings. Retro-rocker Johnny Rivers recorded The Funky Kings’ track “Slow Dancing (Swayin’ To the Music)” written by Tempchin, and made it a Billboard Top 10 in 1977.

In the 1980s, Tempchin co-wrote a dozen radio hits for Glenn Frey’s solo career, including “True Love,” “The One You Love,” “Sexy Girl,” “Party Town,” “I Found Somebody,” “Soul Searchin,” and “Livin’ Right.” Other Tempchin/Frey co-writes include Top 40 hits “Smuggler’s Blues” and “You Belong to The City” for the original ‘Miami Vice’ TV show soundtrack. These two songs were later sampled in the 90s by platinum rappers Coolio (“Nature of the Business”) and Jay-Z (“City Is Mine”).

Famously, Tempchin’s tune “Peaceful Easy Feeling” was featured in a notorious taxi scene in the Coen Brothers cult classic The Big Lebowski where Jeff Bridges’ character is unceremoniously tossed from a cab. “Part Of Me, Part Of You,” another Tempchin/Frey classic, was the end-title theme song for the Oscar-award winning film Thelma & Louise. In 2015, a Tempchin/Frey co-write was featured in David O. Russell’s Joy starring Jennifer Lawrence.

In 2014, Jack’s lyrical manuscripts for “Peaceful Easy Feeling” and “Already Gone” as well as his original Stella guitar were on view at The Grammy Museum in Los Angeles, CA. Prior to that, his lyrics were featured at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio.

In 2019, Jack was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in New York City. His latest album, “One More Time With Feeling,” was released on Jimmy Buffett’s Mailboat record label.

More information about Jack Tempchin at his official website.


Reggae Jack - Always Magic

Night River Records 2022

Tracks: Always Magic When The Sun Goes Down, Do Something, Friend To Me, From A Yellow Bird, Great Big Smile, More Of Less & One Of The Good Old Days.

Musicians to the Always Magic album: Jack Tempchin and others.

One More Time With Feeling

Night River Records 2019

Tracks: One of the Good Old Days, Peaceful Easy Feeling, True Love, One More Time with Feeling, Never Had the Chance to Say Goodbye, Back to the Old Me, Love's First Lesson, Out in the Desert, Always Magic When the Sun Goes Down & Big Lincoln.

Musicians on the One More Time With Feeling album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Peaceful Easy Feeling

Blue Elan Records 2019

Tracks: Peaceful Easy Feeling, Part Of Me Part Of You, Slow Dancing, The One You Love, Soul Searchin', Already Gone, Privacy, Everybody's Gonna Love Somebody Tonight, Party Town & It's Your World Now.

Musicians on the Peaceful Easy Feeling album: Jack Tempchin, Herb Pedersen, Chris Hillman, Janiva Magness, Jerry Peterson, Rita Coolidge and others.

One More Song

Blue Elan Records 2016

Tracks: Slow Dancing, Singing In The Street, Old River, Around Midnight, Circle Ties That Bind, So Long My Friend, Still Looking For A Way To Say Goodbye, Streets Of Midnight, I Got Her Right Where She Wants Me, Song For You, Tumbleweed & One More Song.

Musicians on the One More Song album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Learning To Dance

Bluelan Records 2015

Tracks: Learning To Dance, Nothing With You, Living This Love, Love´s First Lesson, The End Of The Affair, I Volunteer, Ain´t Nobody Like You, What If We Should Fall In Love Again, You Can Go Home, Big Sky Country, Finally Found Me & Room To Run (Bonus Track).

Musicians on the Learning To Dance album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Room To Run

Bluelan Records 2015

Tracks: Room To Run, Jesus And Mohammed, The High Cost Of Hate (Let´s Make Some Lawyers Rich) & Summertime Bum.

Musicians on the Room To Run album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Live At Tales From The Tavern

Tales From Tavern 2012

Tracks: The One You Love, Bender, Loneliest Piano In Town, Jazzbird, Already Gone, Lovers Like Us, Jesus And Mohammed, Amy, You Belong To The City, Slow Dancing & Peaceful Easy Feeling.

Musicians on the Live At Tales From The Tavern album: Jack Tempchin and others.


Night River Records 2007

Tracks: Out In The Desert, Something In The Image, Waiting, It Could Have Been You And Me, Ghost In The Night (Dancing In The Moonlight), Box Of Memories, Smuggler´s Blues, East Of Eden, All The Love & Couch Rider.

Musicians on the Songs album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Live On Hwy 101

Night River Records 2000

Tracks: Taking Everything Away, Sugar Daddy, Memories of You, Bender, Trust Somebody, Better World, Everybody Needs Love, Late Night TV & San Jose.

Musicians on the Live In Hwy 101 album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Lonely Midnight

Night River Records 1995

Tracks: They're Taking Everything Away, No Way, Astronaut, Trust Somebody, Who's Been Sleeping In My Bed, Bender, Same Old Thing, Lonely Midnight, My Old Friends & San Jose.

Musicians on the Lonely Midnight album: Jack Tempchin and others.

After The Rain

Night River Records 1994

Tracks: Blue Flame, After the Rain, Streets of L.A., The Road I'm On, Slow Dancing, On the Loose, I'm Daddy Now, Just Got to Believe & Big Sky Country.

Musicians on the After The Rain album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Staying Home

Night River Records 1991

Tracks: From A Yellow Bird, She Can´t Let Go, Lover´s Moon, That Old Dog Had Soul, Party For Myself, Christmas Calling, I´m Daddy Now, Sixteens Years Of Love & My Old Friends.

Musicians on the Staying Home album: Jack Tempchin and others.

Jack Tempchin

Arista Records 1978

Tracks: Stingaree, She Belonged To You, Peaceful Easy Feeling, Fifteen Days Under The Hood, Lifetime Friend, Golden Life, Tijuana, Pick Up Truck, Skateboard Johnny & Walkaway.

Musicians on the Jack Tempchin album: Jack Tempchin, Pete Carr, Glenn Frey, Bob Wray, Gary Baker, Randy McCormick, Barry Beckett, Harvey Thompson, Eddie Struzick, Thom Flora, Jackson Browne & Jennifer Warnes.