Three songwriters together…

Formed in 1973 at the urging of Asylum Records president David Geffen, Souther-Hillman-Furay was the offspring of just about every notable country-rock band. Richie Furay was a founding member of both Buffalo Springfield and Poco; Chris Hillman had been with the Byrds, the Flying Burrito Brothers, and Stephen Stills’ Manassas; and J.D. Souther formed Longbranch Pennywhistle with Eagle Glenn Frey, as well as recording a solo record for Asylum and penning tunes for artists like Linda Ronstadt, Bonnie Raitt, and the Eagles.

S-H-F’s supporting cast also came with impressive credentials, including studio stalwart Paul Harris on piano, Al Perkins (Flying Burrito Brothers, Manassas) on pedal steel guitar, and former Derek & the Dominos drummer Jim Gordon (who also wrote the piano piece that concludes “Layla”).

Although the band, which was meant to be a sort of country-rock version of Crosby, Stills & Nash, received a great deal of hype and promotion, things never really gelled. Their debut sold reasonably well, but the aptly titled Trouble in Paradise was poorly received. S-H-F broke up shortly thereafter with each member going on to solo careers.

Souther released a couple of solo efforts, achieving a minor success with “You’re Only Lonely”; Hillman recorded unsuccessfully for Asylum before teaming with former Byrd-mates Roger McGuinn and Gene Clark in McGuinn, Clark & Hillman, and then forming the popular country-rock Desert Rose Band; and Furay, who became a minister in Colorado, made three Christian-influenced albums, as well as re-joining Poco for their 20th-anniversary recording.

Words from


Trouble In Paradise

Asylum Records 1975

Tracks: Trouble In Paradise, Move Me Real Slow, For Someone I Love, Mexico, Love And Satisfy, On The Line, Prisoner In Disguise, Follow Me Through & Somebody Must Be Wrong.

Musicians on the Trouble In Paradise album: John David Souther, Chris Hillman, Richie Furay, Joe Lala, Paul Harris, Al Perkins, Ron Grinel and others.

The Souther Hillman Furay Band

Asylum Records 1974

Tracks: Fallin´In Love, Heavenly Fire, The Heartbreaker, Believe Me, Border Town, Safe At Home, Pretty Goodbyes, Rise And Fall, The Flight Of The Dove & Deep Dark And Dreamless.

Musicians on the Souther Hillman Furay Band album: John David Souther, Chris Hillman, Richie Furay, Joe Lala, Paul Harris, Al Perkins, Ron Grinel and others.