Bruce Roberts, a great songwriter…

Pop songwriter Bruce Roberts released his self-titled debut album on Elektra Records in 1977. But he became more successful penning songs for others, starting that same year, when the comic “You’re Movin’ Out Today,” co-written with Carole Bayer Sager and Bette Midler, became a chart single for Midler. Roberts then began writing songs for movie soundtracks.

With Paul Jabara and Bob Esty, he wrote “The Main Event/Fight,” a Top Ten hit for Barbra Streisand and the theme for her movie, The Main Event, in 1979. He and Jabara followed with “No More Tears (Enough Is Enough),” which Streisand and Donna Summer took to number one later that year. Roberts, Sager, and Burt Bacharach enjoyed a Top 40 hit with Roberta Flack’s recording of the theme from the movie Making Love in 1982.

By the mid-’80s, Robert was writing with Andy Goldmark, and the two came up with Top 40 hits for Jermaine Jackson (“Dynamite,” 1984), Jeffrey Osborne (“You Should Be Mine [The Woo Woo Song],” 1986), and Jennifer Rush (with Elton John) (“Flames of Paradise,” 1987). Roberts’s 3rd solo album, Intimacy, on which he was joined by John, Luther Vandross, K.D. Lang, Ashford and Simpson, and All-4-One, among others, was released in 1995. William Ruhlmann  – All Music Guide



Atlantic Records 1995

Tracks: Intimacy, Real, Let Me Steal Your Heart, When Love Goes, My One Joy, When The Money's Gone, Raise The Population, All Through The Night, Emerald & Man Who Loves You.

Musicians on the Intimacy album: Bruce Roberts, Elton John, Donna Summer, David Foster, T-Bone Walker, K.D. Lang, All-4-One and others.

Cool Fool

Elektra Records 1980

Tracks: Cool Fool, S´Good Enuf, With All My Love Aith All Of My Heart, All Through The Night, The Guys You Dance With, No Other Love, Heart Be Steady, Prelume & Light In The Window.

Musicians on the Cool Fool album: Bruce Roberts, Neil Stubenhaus, Larry Byrom, Ed Greene, Paulinho Da Costa, Luther Vandross, David Lasley, Arnold McCuller, Ula Hedwig, Gary Herbig, Jerry Hey, David Foster, Randy McCormick, Stephanie Spruill, Gene Page, Leland Sklar, James Stroud, Mark Sprangler, Tom Vig, Ian Underwood, Julia Water, Maxime Waters, David Campbell, Tom Rhode, Larry Meredith, Bruce Sudano, Joe Esposito. Eddie Hokenson, Richei Furay & Snuffy Walden.

Bruce Roberts

Elektra Records 1977

Tracks: I Don't Break Easily, Our Night, I Don't Wanna Go, I'd Rather Be Alone, Starmaker, This Boy, Me and My Love, The Car Song, Steal Away Again & I'm Coming Home Again.

Musicians on the Bruce Roberts album: Bruce Roberts, Steve Cropper, Ron Carter, Grady Tate, Tommy Vig, David Foster, Connie Stevens, Bobbye Hall. Jim Cregan, Donald "Duck" Dunn, Bob Glaub. Brooks Hunnicutt, John Jarvis, Jeff Porcaro, Ray Parker, Jr., Mike Porcaro, Fred Tackett & Ian Underwood.