Award winning producer and keyboard player …

A solo artist, producer, and composer who enjoyed success in both the secular and CCM arenas, Michael Omartian first surfaced during the early ’70s as a top session keyboardist, playing on albums by artists ranging from Steely Dan to the Four Tops to Loggins & Messina before making his solo debut with 1974’s Myrrh label release White Horse.

In 1975, he and producer Steve Barri formed the Los Angeles studio group Rhythm Heritage, topping the pop charts early the following year with their theme to the ABC television series S.W.A.T.; “Baretta’s Theme (Keep Your Eye on the Sparrow)” appeared in 1976, but was the unit’s last effort of note. After helming Alan O’Day’s 1977 chart-topper “Undercover Angel,” Omartian graduated to the top ranks of producers through his work with singer/songwriter Christopher Cross, collaborating on a series of hits including the Grammy winning “Sailing”, “Ride Like the Wind,” and “Arthur’s Theme (Best That You Can Do)”.

From there, he produced sessions for Rod Stewart and Donna Summer, focusing increasingly on CCM projects in the years to follow through work with Gary Chapman, Kathy Troccoli, and 4 Him. In addition to his solo releases, Omartian also recorded several albums with his wife Stormie.


The Race

Word Records 1991

Tracks: Faithful Forever, Heartbreak City, Let My Heart Be The First To Know, Kingdoms, Cry From The East, Alone, Last Night On Earth, Morning Light, Burn It Up & Kingdoms (Instrumental Reprise).

Musicians on the The Race album: Michael Omartian, Donald Kirkpatrick, David Raven, Dave Boruff, Suzanne Schwartz, Steven Tavani, Alice Echols, Jean Johnson, Bryan Duncan & Raymone Carter.


Reunion Records 1986

Tracks: Homelands, Soldier, Time Is Now, Festival Of The Dance, Right From The Start, Desert, Call & Rest.

Musicians on the Conversations album: Michael Omartian and others.


Sparrow Records 1982

Producer: Michael Omartian

Tracks: The Calling, Mainstream, Man Out Of Time, Come And Give It All You Got, Praise His Name And See It Happen, Give It Up, Believing For The Best In You, One Song In Not Enough & It Is Done.

Musicians on the Mainstream album: Michael Omartian, Stormie Omartian, Mike Baird, Bob Wilson, Mark Leonard, Abraham Laboriel, Michael Landau, Larry Carlton, Martin Walsh, Bud Nuanez, Paulinho Da Costa, Kim Hutchcroft, Jerry Hey, Jay Gruska, Terry Harriton, Myrna Matthews, Philip Bailey & Christopher Cross.

The Builder

Myrrh Records 1980

Tracks: Charlie´s Dream, Only Thing Missing Is You, The Builder, Mister Trash Man, Anything You Ask Of Me, Doctor Jesus, Big Time, Half Past Three & End Times.

Musicians on the Builder album: Michael Omartian, Stormie Omartian, Paul Leim, Abraham Laboriel, Jay Graydon, Phil Keaggy, Marty Walsh, Kim Hutchcroft, Jackie Kelso, Steve Madaio, Lew McCreary & Chuck Findley.


Seasons Of The Soul

Myrrh Records 1978

Tracks: Mr Past, Travel on With Me, Gonna Write Me a Song, More Like You, Where I Been, It All Comes Down to You, Heaven Will Wait For Me & Seasons of the Soul.

Musicians on the Seasons Of The Soul album: Michael Omartian, Stormie Omartian, Paul Leim, Abraham Laboriel, Bud Nuanez, Phil Keaggy, Kim Hutchcroft, Larry Williams, Jerry Hey, Matthew Ward & Myrna Matthews.

Adam Again

Myrrh Records 1976

Tracks: Ain't You Glad, No Matter What Shape, See This House, Wacher Sign, Annie The Poet, Telos Suite : Prelude, Alive And Well, Adam Again & Here He Comes.

Musicians on the Adam Again Album: Michael Omartian, Richard Bennett, Larry Carlton, Dean Parks, Lee Ritenour, Scott Edwards, Wilton Felder, David Hungate, Ed Greene, Victor Feldman, Ernie Watts & Paul Hubinon.


ABC Records 1975

Tracks: Ain´t You Glad, No Matter What Shape You´re In, See This House, Watcher Sign, Annie The Poet, Telos Suite: Prelude, Alive And Well, Adam Again & Here He Comes.

Musicians on the Onward Album: Michael Omartian, Ed Greene, David Hungate, Scott Edwards, Wilton Felder, Richard Bennett, Dean Parks, Larry Carlton, Lee Ritenour, Victor Feldman, Ernie Watts & Paul Hubinon.


White Horse

ABC Records 1974

Musicians on the White Horse album: Michael Omartian, Stormie Omartian, David Kemper, Ed Greene, David Hungate, Wilton Felder, Larry Carlton, Dean Parks, King Errisson, Don Menza, Jackie Kelso, Paul Hubinon, Pat Henderson, Carolyn Willis & Ann White.

Tracks: Jeremiah, Fat City, Orphan, Silver Fish, Add Up The Wonders, Take Me Down, Right From The Start, Rest Is Up To You & White Horse.