Little River Band (LRB) are a rock band originally formed in Melbourne, Australia, in March 1975.

The band achieved commercial success, not only in Australia but also in the United States. They have sold more than 30 million records; six studio albums reached the top 10 on the Australian Kent Music Report albums chart including Diamantina Cocktail (April 1977) and First Under the Wire (July 1979), which both peaked at No. 2. Nine singles appeared in the top 20 on the related singles chart, with “Help Is on Its Way” (1977) as their only number-one hit. Ten singles reached the top 20 on the Billboard Hot 100 with “Reminiscing” their highest peaking at No. 3. Only First Under the Wire appeared in the top 10 albums on the Billboard 200.

Early members were Beeb Birtles, Ric Formosa, Graeham Goble, Roger McLachlan, Derek Pellicci and Glenn Shorrock. Most of the group’s 1970s and 1980s material was written by Goble and/or Shorrock, with contributions from Birtles, David Briggs (who replaced Formosa) and Pellicci.

Little River Band have received many music awards in Australia. In May 2001 the Australasian Performing Right Association (APRA), as part of its 75th anniversary celebrations, named “Cool Change”, written by Shorrock, as one of the Top 30 Australian songs of all time. The 1976 line-up of Birtles, Briggs, Goble, Pellicci, Shorrock and George McArdle (who replaced McLachlan), were inducted into the Australian Recording Industry Association (ARIA) Hall of Fame at the 18th Annual ARIA Music Awards of 2004.

Little River Band have undergone numerous personnel changes, with over 30 members since their formation. None of the musicians now performing as Little River Band are original members. In the 1980s members included John Farnham, David Hirschfelder, Stephen Housden, Wayne Nelson and Steve Prestwich. Currently the line-up is Nelson with Rich Herring, Greg Hind, Chris Marion and Ryan Ricks.

More information at the official website.

Selected Discography

No Reins

Capitol Records 1986

Tracks: Face In The Crowd, It's Just A Matter Of Time, Time For Us, No Reins On Me, When The War Is Over, Thin Nice, How Many Nights?, Forever Blue, Paper Paradise & It Was The Night.

Musicians on the No Reins album: John Farnham, Graeham Goble, David Hirschfelder, Stephen Housden, Wayne Nelson, Steven Prestwich, Chris Corr, Rob Craw, Matthew Eddy, Roger McLachlan, Ian McKenzie, Nikki Nichols, Alex Pertout, Mal Stainton, Malcolm Wakeford & Sandy Weekes.

Playing To Win

Capitol Records 1984

Tracks: Playing To Win, Reappear, Blind Eyes, Through Her Eyes, When Cathedrals Were White, Relentless, Piece Of The Dream, Don't Blame Me, One Shot In The Dark, Count Me In & "D".

Musicians on the Playing To Win album: John Farnham, Graeham Goble, David Hirschfelder, Stephen Housden, Wayne Nelson & Steven Prestwich.

The Net

Capitol Records 1983

Tracks: You're Driving Me Out Of My Mind, We Two, No More Tears, Mr. Socialite, Down On The Border, The Danger Sign, Falling, Sleepless Nights, Easy Money & The Net.

Musicians on the Net album: Beeb Birtles, John Farnham, Graeham Goble, David Hirschfeder, Stephen Houdsen & Derek Pellicci.

Time Exposure

Capitol Records 1981

Tracks: The Night Owls, Man On Your Mind, Take It Easy On Me, Ballerina, Love Will Survive, Full Circle, Just Say That You Love Me, Suicide Boulevard, Orbit Zero, Don't Let The Needle Win & Guiding Light.

Musicians on the Time Exposure album: Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, Graeham Goble, Wayne Nelson, Derek Pellicci, Glenn Shorrock, Bill Cuomo & Peter Jones.

Backstage Pass

Capitol Records 1980

Tracks: It's A Long Way There, So Many Paths, Statue Of Liberty, Fall From Paradise, Light Of Day, Reminiscing, The Man In Black, Help Is On Its Way, Hard Life, The Rumor, Mistress Of Mine, Too Lonely To Long, Red Shoes, I Don't Worry No More, Let's Dance, Man On The Run, It's No I Wonder & Sweet Old Fashioned Man.

Musicians on the Backstage Pass album: Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, Graeham Goble, Mal Logan, George McArdle, Dereck Pellici, Glenn Shorrock & Barry Sullivan.

First Under The Wire

Capitol Records 1979

Tracks: Lonesome Loser, The Rumor, By My Side, Cool Change, It's Not A Wonder, Hard Life (Prelude), Hard Life, Middle Man, Man On The Run & Mistress Of Mine.

Musicians on the First Under The Wire album: Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, Graeham Goble, Dereck Pellicci, Glenn Shorrock, John Boylan, Mike Clarke, Clive Harrison, Bill Harrower, Peter Jones, Peter Sullivan & Barry Quinn.

Sleeper Catcher

EMI Records 1978

Tracks: Shut Down Turn Off, Reminiscing, Red-Headed Wild Flower, Light Of Day, Fall From Paradise, Lady, Sanity's Side, So Many Paths & One For The Road.

Musicians on the Sleeper Catcher album: Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, Graeham Goble, George McArdle, Dereck Pellicci, Glenn Shorrock, Vernon Hill, Peter Jones, Mal Logan, Pam Raines, Peter Sullivan & Bob Venier.

Diamantina Cocktail

EMI Records 1977

Tracks: Help Is On Its Way, The Drifter, L.A. In The Sunshine, The Inner Light, Witchery, Home On Monday, Happy Anniversary, Raelene Raelene & Changed And Different.

Musicians on the Diamantina Cocktail album: Beeb Birtles, David Briggs, Graeham Goble, George McArdle, Dereck Pellicci, Glenn Shorrock, Tony Buchanan, Peter Hayes, Ian Mason & Peter Sullivan.

After Hours

EMI Records 1976

Tracks: Days On The Road, Everyday Of My Life, Broke Again, Seine City, Another Runaway, Bourbon Street, Sweet Old Fashioned Man, Take Me Home & Country Girls.

Musicians on the After Hours album: Beeb Birtles, Rick Formosa, Graeham Goble, Roger McLaghlan, Dereck Pellici, Glenn Shorrock, Tony Buchanan, Mike Burke, Eddy Denton, Graeme Lyall, Ian Mason, Aurora Moratti, Peter Salt, Kerryn Tolhurst & Bobby Vinier.