He is remembered best for his 1974 song composition “Please Come to Boston”, which was a number 5 popular music success (number 1 Easy Listening) in the U.S.

He was inducted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame during 1995. He is the second cousin of singer/songwriter Kenny Loggins.

Loggins also wrote the song “Pieces of April” for the band Three Dog Night, which was a top-20 success during 1973. He has written material for Tanya Tucker, Restless Heart, Wynonna Judd, Reba McEntire, Gary Morris, Alabama, Toby Keith, Don Williams, and the number 1 success “Morning Desire” by Kenny Rogers. During 1984, he recorded “Nobody Loves Me Like You Do,” a duet with Anne Murray, which scored number one on the Billboard Hot Country Singles chart. Loggins and Murray were named Vocal Duo of the Year at the CMA Awards during 1985.

Loggins also composed the theme music “Augusta” that is used on broadcasts of The Masters Golf Tournament. “Augusta” was later released as part of a collection of songs about golf named The New Course Record. On this recording, Loggins shared the vocal duties with Birmingham-based singer and pianist Ray Reach. The arranging duties were shared by Don Hays and Ray Reach. Hays shared the producer’s role with Dan Green and noted Nashville musician and producer Mike Chapman.

Read more about Dave Loggins at the official website.

Selected Discography

David Loggins

Epic Records 1979

Tracks: Face In The Window, You Made Me Feel Love, If I Had A Wish Tonight, A Woman That You Can't Have, Tell Me Anything But The Truth, The Fool In Me, Pieces Of April, Rain So Hard, Stones (Dig A Little Deeper) & My Dream Lover.

Musicians on the David Loggins album: Dave Loggins, Kenny Malone, Jon Goin, Steve Gibson, Bruce Dees, Steve Brantley, Jack Williams, Randy Goodrum, Shane Keister, Bobby Emmons, Quitman Dennis, Blue Jay Patten,  Steve Brantley, Bruce Dees & Sherry Kramer.

One Way Ticket To Paradise

Epic Records 1977

Tracks: Please Remember Me, Goodbye Eyes, Don't Treat Me Like a Stranger, Ship in a Bottle, One Way Ticket to Paradise, Breeze, The Ballad of Cowboy Twenty, Crowd of Lonely People, Color of the Mood & Three Little Words (I Love You).

Musicians on the One Way Ticket To Paradise album: Dave Loggins, Kenny Malone, Reggie Young, John Christopher, Steve Gibson, Jack Williams, John Gimble, Randolph Goodrum, Gail Whitfield, Yvonne Hodges, Bergen White, Buzz Cason, Diane Tidwell & Sherry Kramer.

Country Suite

Epic Records 1976

Tracks: Movin' to the Country, I'm Gonna Farm You off My Mind, Wild Millie the Mountain Girl, The Weatherman, Lovin' Somebody on a Rainy Night, Come on Over to My Place, Goodbye Miss Sadness, Believin' in Love (Ain't That Easy), I Ain't Goin Nowhere & Saviour of My Natural Life.

Musicians on the Country Suite album: Dave Loggins, Kenny Malone, Billy Sanford, Mac Gayden, Mike Noble, Weldon Myrick, Jack Williams, Randolph Goodrum, Ben Pedigoe, Lisa Silver, Greg Johnson, Sherry Kramer, Diane Tidwell, Lisa Silver, Bob Gelotte, Mike Noble & Graig Link.

Apprentice (In A Musical Workshop)

Epic Records 1974

Tracks: Someday, My Lover's Keeper, Second Hand Lady, Let Me Go Now, So You Couldn't Get to Me, Please Come to Boston, Girl from Knoxville, Sunset Woman, My Father's Fiddle & Wonder'n as the Days Go By.

Musicians on the Apprentice (In A Music Workshop): Dave Loggins, Jerry Carrigan, John Guerin, Kenny Malone, John Raines, Larry London, Steve Gibson, Billy Sanford, Mike Noble, Norbert Putman, Lee Sklar, Shane Keister, William Smith, David Briggs, Johnny Gimble, Byron Bach, Weldon Myrick, Farrell Morris, Brenda Gordon, Pat Coulter & Brooks Hunnicutt.

Personal Belongings

Vanguard Records 1971

Tracks: Good Side of Tomorrow, Pieces of April, Think'n of You, Claudia, Lady in an Orange Silk Blouse, Sister Mary Ryan, Touch of Pennsylvania, A Sailor's Misfortune, Them Blues Done Missed a Call, Thoughts From a Letter & Old Enough to Know.

Musicians on the Personal Belongings: Dave Loggins, Jim Isbell, Billy Sanford, Glenn Keener, Norbert Putman, David Briggs, Jerry Crutchfield, Charlie McCoy & Glenn Keener.