Don Francisco (born February 28, 1946) is an independent American singer, songwriter, and musician, specializing in the field of contemporary Christian music. He has won two Dove awards, 1980 song of the year (for “He’s Alive”), and 1980 Songwriter of the year.

Born in Louisville, Kentucky, the son of a Christian seminary professor Clyde T. Francisco. Francisco’s early career centered on the folk-rock music common during the mid-1960s, but after an experience Francisco believed was supernatural, he rededicated his life to God and changed his personal, musical direction. Francisco is married and lives in Colorado with his wife, Wendy, also a recording artist as well as a graphic artist.

In 1977 Don Francisco recorded “I Don’t Care Where You’ve Been Sleeping” for the album Forgiven. According to the Francisco’s website: “We get more letters about the healing impact of this song than any other except ‘He’s Alive.'” It is one of the most uncompromising songs he has ever written and it is considered by many to be one of his best songs.

Benson re-released the original album Forgiven along with Got to Tell Somebody, and put them both on one CD in 1988. That re-release left off the song “I Don’t Care Where You’ve Been Sleeping” off in order to fit both albums on one 70-minute CD. However, they did release the Forgiven album in the early 1990s with that song on it, along with all others, on their “Right Price” line of CDs.

Eventually after 1994, Don Francisco opted to operate independently, which, while affording him more control, seems to have had no ill effect on his musical output or quality. On the contrary, albums released after have gradually gained the use of further session work and demonstrate an even greater range of styles.

In 2003 Francisco released The Promises, which consists almost entirely of selected and paraphrased readings from the Bible. The disk is a collaboration between Don and Wendy Francisco.

Selected Discography


NewPax Records 1981

Tracks: Too Small A Price, Since I Met Him, The Lord & I Together, Beautiful To Me, If You Ain't Gonna Sing The Gospel, Messengers From Heaven, The Package, You Can't Take It With You, Give Your Heart A Home & The Traveler.

Musicians on the Traveler album: Don Francisco, Jon Goin, Gary Baker, Jack Williams, Bob Wray, Shane Keister, Joe English & Bonnie Bramlett.

Got To Tell Somebody

NewPax Records 1979

Tracks: If You're Thirsty, Whenever You're Speakin' To Me, The Duke And The Duchess, Steeple Song, Got To Tell Somebody, Who Do You Think You're Foolin' ?, I'll Never Let Go Of Your Hand, Balaam, He Still Loves You & Too Small A Price.

Musicians on the Got To Tell Somebody album: Don Francisco, Buddy Emmons, Steve Gibson, Joe Osborn, Shane Keister, Larrie Londin & Buddy Spicher.


NewPax Records 1977

Tracks: Jesus is the Lord of the Way I Feel, Jehoshaphat, Step Across the Line, I Could Never Promise You, He's Alive, I Don't Care Where You've Been Sleeping, Don't Want to Be Late, Lullabye & Adam Where Are You?.

Musicians on the Forgiven album: Don Francisco, Buddy Emmons, Steve Gibson, Joe Osborn, Shane Keister, Larrie Londin & Buddy Spicher.

Brother Of The Son

NewPax Records 1976

Tracks: Brother Of The Son, Who You Gonna Listen To, Closer To Jesus, I Found The Answer, Voyage To Gennesaret, Holy Roll, The Day Of The Lord, Got To Tell The Story, No Condemnation & Come And Follow.

Musicians on the Brother Of The Son album: Don Francisco, Phil Baugh, Steve Gibson, Mark Morell, Dales Sellers, Reggie Young, Steve Schaffer, Jack Williams, Tony Migliori, Eddie Bayers, Kenny Malone & Noboru Marishige.